Dayton Flyers wins NIT Championship

The Dayton Flyers beat NCAA champ North Carolina to win the NIT championship to the score of 79 to 68, Thursday, April I at Madison Square Garden in New York City. Forward Chris Johnson of the Flyers was hailed MVP of the tournament and finished the game with 14 points, 9 of them coming at the final three minute mark and overcame a pulled hip muscle, limping his way to a three pointer, a dunk and a lay up all in the final 3 minutes of the game to secure the win for the Flyers. Will Graves of North Carolina led the Tar Heels with a game-high 25 points.